Ducati Diavel Motorcycles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I was thinking of adding some bright LED daytime running lights to the front of my 2012 Diavel Carbon (and maybe do a flashing brake light too).
Does anyone have experience with these with Ducatis? I have a buddy who swears that the adding 2 DRLs create a light triangle that keeps cars from pulling out or turning in front of him.

Ideally I'd like to install them myself - I'm hoping it should be pretty straightforward to tap into the existing wire.

Color or brand? Mounting position? The only forum info I can find is like 6-8 years old and probably outdated.

Thank you!!
Greg
Colorado, USA

·
Registered
37 Posts
Note, I’ve been riding for 40 years. I don’t believe running lights in the front can make car drivers see us any much better than a headlight only. They are simply too close to each other and can’t make us look big enough to get their attention like a car. Case in point, my Honda Rune weighs 900 pounds, is 13” longer than a Diavel, lots of chrome, has running lights, and cars still don’t see me sometimes. My personal practice is to ride in daytime with the brights on and remain vigilant and defensive. For the tail lights the Diavel is somewhat unique. I’ve spoken to several companies that make brake light modulators and none work for the Diavel. The reason is because is the brakes and turn signals are in the same light module. The bike ECU sends a signal to the brake lights and (I’m told) a different voltage for the turn signal which allows the turn signal to work while braking. I’m not certain that is exactly what they told me but brake modulators don’t work on the Diavel. Just today I spoke with Signal Dynamics, one of the leading companies making brake light modulators and they explained why they won’t work on a Diavel. Hoping someone proves them wrong and provides product details for all of us after they install the modulator.

·
Registered