Jump to content


Hid Headlight


8 replies to this topic

#1 Steven-f

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
    Joined: 03-April 11
  • Location: North Hampshire, UK
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 03 June 2011 - 10:43 AM

Has anyone fitted an HID bulb and ballast to replace the stadard bulb - dipped beam alone, or dipped & main?


With a 6000k bulb it should look great with the LEDS.



If you've done it were there any problems, which kit, and where did you put the ballast?

Remove Advertisements Sponsored Links

    Diavel-Forum.com



#2 Coop

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,834 posts
    Joined: 09-April 11
  • Location: Mudgee NSW Australia
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Black

Posted 03 June 2011 - 12:34 PM

I'll probably never ride at night around where I live. There's just too many suicidal kangaroos around here for my liking. But I think I will go fo a HID upgrade just for the look. I'll probably get my son to fit it for me though, he's done a nice job of fitting HIDs to his GSXR600. He's even working on fitting a gyro system to his headlight now to keep the beam level as he leans the bike around corners!!!

Edited by Coop, 03 June 2011 - 01:00 PM.


#3 General Lee

    Expert Member

  • Administrators
  • 2,946 posts
    Joined: 09-May 11
  • Location: SoCal
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 03 June 2011 - 12:59 PM

The stock high beam seems to be plenty bright, IMO. HID takes a while to warm up and you'll have to find a place to hide the ballasts. Not ideal for a high/passing beam as it won't instantly turn on. Might work okay for a low beam, if you're not satisfied with the stock bulb.

#4 Game-mania.it

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 34 posts
    Joined: 28-April 11
  • Location: Padova, ITALY
  • Diavel Model: Red

Posted 16 June 2011 - 12:00 AM

The low and high beam are too weak for my taste, and a mod would be very interesting to me...

#5 Thewolf

    Expert Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 2,194 posts
    Joined: 19-March 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 16 June 2011 - 02:21 AM

I had HIDs on my Speedie. As long as I can find somewhere to hide the ballasts I'll probably do HID for the low beam. The high beam I'm not sure of yet. Thankfully the low beam stays on so timing for high beam isn't as important

#6 Coop

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,834 posts
    Joined: 09-April 11
  • Location: Mudgee NSW Australia
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Black

Posted 16 June 2011 - 05:19 AM

Did you have HIDs for both beams on your Triple Wolf?

#7 Thewolf

    Expert Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 2,194 posts
    Joined: 19-March 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 16 June 2011 - 02:45 PM

View PostCoop, on 16 June 2011 - 05:19 AM, said:

Did you have HIDs for both beams on your Triple Wolf?


Yes, however the Speedie had 2 H4 globes (both lights did both high and low beam). The H4 HIDs I found used a solenoid to move a reflector so the globes didn't need to charge/power up

Other alternatives were HID low/halogen high or H4 low only

#8 Coop

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,834 posts
    Joined: 09-April 11
  • Location: Mudgee NSW Australia
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Black

Posted 16 June 2011 - 03:10 PM

View PostThewolf, on 16 June 2011 - 02:45 PM, said:

Yes, however the Speedie had 2 H4 globes (both lights did both high and low beam). The H4 HIDs I found used a solenoid to move a reflector so the globes didn't need to charge/power up

Other alternatives were HID low/halogen high or H4 low only

Right. I've heard about those HIDs with the solenoid activated reflector/ shield, but I've never seen them.
But I agree with you, if the low beams stay on when high beam is activated the warm up time shouldn't be a problem.

#9 Stevedunco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
    Joined: 16-September 12
  • Location: Gold Coast QLD Australia
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 05 December 2012 - 12:29 AM

Hi. I fitted a 6000 k 55 w to my low beam only so others can see me better. You will need to also fit an error canceller, due to the late model electronics. Mine works fine. There is plenty of room inside the headlight cowling.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users