#1 WilliamDuc

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Diavel Model: Red

Posted 15 April 2016 - 02:34 AM

Found this little nugget:

"Sorry, didn't recognize your name. Of course you are 100 times more qualified than me to evaluate the motorcycle. Sorry if I offended you in any way. I have been riding Harleys for 30 years and have put 200,000 miles on them. Still ride a 2007 Softail Custom every day. Also bought a 2015 KTM 1190 Adventure R last January and have put 10,000 miles on it. The KTM has the RC8R superbike engine in it so I know how a sport bike engine runs. But I don't like sport bikes and have never ridden one. In your review you were trying hard to compare the XDiavel to a cruiser, but it doesn't equate: Engine size 1262cc (Harleys are now 1688cc to 1800cc). Torque peak at 5000 rpm (Harleys have a torque peak at 2500 to 3500 rpm). So the Harley will be rumbling while the XDiavel will be screaming [Sound]. The new Low Rider S has a torque peak of 115 ft lbs compared to 95 ft lbs for the XDiavel. As you mentioned, the XDiavel runs very smoothly whereas Harleys run rough. You can really feel the vibration of the engine [Feel]. Finally the look: Harleys have a unique bad-ass and fearsome look, feel and sound that Harley riders love. That is why the Japanese have not been able to conquer this market. The XDiavel looks girly in comparison [Look]. Seat height is almost 30 inches whereas most Harleys are 26 inches. The best thing I can say about the XDiavel is that it is a "cruiser" for sport bike fans."

I have to agree with this 'from the hip' assessment. I mean it is comparable to the V-Rod, but not traditional Harleys.

Reference^
https://rideapart.co...de-review-video

Remove Advertisements Sponsored Links

Diavel-Forum.com

#2 TexasCruiser

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 437 posts
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 15 April 2016 - 08:02 AM