Jump to content


TransLogic Quickshifter.... Who just got one in the UK?


14 replies to this topic

#1 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 15 November 2011 - 12:26 PM

My dealer was having problems installing mine, even after speaking directly to the folks at TransLogic. After my discussions with TransLogic, it was decided that I should remove the QS ECU and send it back to them for testing. Once they received it, they tested it on the bench and it functioned perfectly. They even went the extra mile and had one of their Ducati specialists find a Diavel and install it on it. It worked there too. They took my ECU off the test bike and fit it with a new one. It also worked flawlessly. So, whoever that lucky bloke is, congratulations. I can't wait to get mine back and find someone to install it.

Remove Advertisements Sponsored Links

    Diavel-Forum.com



#2 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 28 November 2011 - 08:31 AM

How is this project going? Have you had any luck installing it?

#3 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 29 November 2011 - 04:08 AM

Mine is still in the shop. They have been closed since last Thursday for Thanksgiving. Hopefully it will be installed today. I am giving my dealer another try, per their request. We will see how it goes. I must admit, I am having withdrawals now as I have not had my bike since Sept. 21st. If I did not have another bike to ride, I would be going ballistic.

#4 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 29 November 2011 - 07:16 AM

Hope all will turn out ok.

What kit / parts did you bought? The Quickshifter System 4ST ?
Which one?
http://www.translogi...-system-4st.htm
Any other part needed?

Keep us posted.

#5 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:45 AM

I bought the TLS-QS4STGPPUSH. That was the only part needed. My technician needed to lengthen the wiring harness to the battery. I was told that others did not have to do this though. I guess it depends on the QS ECU placement. Attaching the rest of the wiring is plug and play. There are Ducati style connectors that go to the front and rear coil. There is a tie rod that has to be cut (modified) to install the QS sensor. According to the Ducati dealer in the UK, it took 3.5 hours to install. Hopefully I will hear something soon about mine.

#6 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 30 November 2011 - 02:47 AM

Nice. Will wait for further info and experience and some photos :)

#7 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 14 December 2011 - 06:52 AM

No photos yet but it is installed! I got the bike back last Friday and the shifter is awesome! It turns out that the tech accidentally wired the clutch lockout cable to the ground wire instead of the hot one coming off the clutch microswitch. That would explain why it did nothing! It was permanently locked out.
I have to say the tech was amazed at how well it worked. He had been testing a Ducati QS and said this one was so much smoother that he could not believe it.
Now if my bike will just run right I will be a happy camper. When I got it back, it hesitates at 6k rpm. He had reset the TPS and thinks it has not learned all of the settings in the map yet. <Fingers crossed>

#8 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 14 December 2011 - 07:10 AM

FYI... TransLogic said they installed mine on a Diavel in Wales. They tested mine on that bike and gave them a free one as a thank you. Is that anyone here?

#9 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 15 December 2011 - 08:40 AM

View PostMD-Dave, on 14 December 2011 - 06:52 AM, said:

No photos yet but it is installed! I got the bike back last Friday and the shifter is awesome! It turns out that the tech accidentally wired the clutch lockout cable to the ground wire instead of the hot one coming off the clutch microswitch. That would explain why it did nothing! It was permanently locked out.
I have to say the tech was amazed at how well it worked. He had been testing a Ducati QS and said this one was so much smoother that he could not believe it.
Now if my bike will just run right I will be a happy camper. When I got it back, it hesitates at 6k rpm. He had reset the TPS and thinks it has not learned all of the settings in the map yet. <Fingers crossed>


NICE

but
? Clutch lockout cable? I thought it was only 4 wires/ connectors: 2 for ignition coils, 1 for battery and 1 to sensor at clutch pedal !
Do you have the install instructions? Would like to see how difficult it is to install?

"There is a tie rod that has to be cut (modified) to install the QS sensor" -- a photo of this would be great. :)

#10 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 15 December 2011 - 09:05 AM

Yeah, I was unaware of that cable. I guess it is supposed to lock it out when you pull in the clutch.

PDF's attached.

Attached File(s)



#11 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 15 December 2011 - 09:46 AM

Thanks!!

How do you like it in city / low rpm driving?

#12 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 15 December 2011 - 09:56 AM

Ok, just read the instructions and the clutch lock-out wire is optional. It is used to overide the quickshit and enter the tuner mode.
Thanks again.

#13 MD-Dave

    Expert Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,272 posts
    Joined: 24-May 11
  • Location: Gainesville, VA
  • Diavel Model: Carbon Red

Posted 15 December 2011 - 10:52 AM

It works fine at all rpm ranges. I am very happy with it.

#14 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 18 December 2011 - 03:49 PM

They just changed the "names". It seems now its the TLS-QS4DUC3-12GPPUSH but the controller is optional.

TLS-QUICKSET-ADJUSTER-12 Quickshifter
Adjuster

Edited by Trakx, 18 December 2011 - 03:50 PM.


#15 Trakx

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 417 posts
    Joined: 31-March 11
  • Location: Portugal
  • Diavel Model: Black

Posted 18 December 2011 - 03:56 PM

I'm guessing you have the shift time controler installed. Do you know if they used it ? Or they left the standard settings?
Since its now an option the question is relevant?





3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users